News and Announcements


On April 9 the Vancouver Island Ladies Field Hockey Association (VILFHA) awarded the league trophies, major awards and all-star team acknowledgements. Lynx 1 midfielder and Mount Douglas Secondary captain Stefanie Sajko was named the league’s top player and ultimately the Hibbert Trophy winner. Flickers stand out Chloe Langkammer was the top junior player earning the Trelawney Shield, while Cowichan’s Teresa Gregus was presented the Christine Trophy for her contributions to the league and sport. Lynx 2 forward and developing umpire Nora Struchtrup was presented the Foley Shield for her umpire performances this season.

The Division MVPs were awarded to former UVic Vike and Lambrick Park Secondary midfielder Kyla Kirby, who led Lynx 1 to a Division 1 league and playoff title this season. In Division 2, long-time midfielder Shannon Petrovic was selected as the division MVP as her consistency, near-flawless attendance and strong performance helped the Sailors earn both league and playoff champion honours. In Division 3, Theresa Kennedy was named MVP for her standout goalkeeping performances this season.

Lynx 1 were the playoff and league winners for Division 1, while the Sailors also completed the sweep in Division 2. The Pirates won the league title for Division 3 but after losing out in a semifinal shootout, gave room for a different playoff champion. The Kestrels defeated their fellow club team the Stellers in the final for Division 3 to hoist the playoff trophy.


Div 1 League Winner: Lynx 1
Div 2 League Winner: Sailors
Div 3 League Winner: Pirates

Div 1 Playoff Winner: Lynx 1
Div 2 Playoff Winner: Sailors
Div 3 Playoff Winner: Kestrels

Div 1 Most Sportsmanlike Team: Flickers
Div 2 Most Sportsmanlike Team: Lynx 2
Div 3 Most Sportsmanlike Team: Devils

Hibbert Trophy (Most Outstanding Player): Stefanie Sajko, Lynx 1
Trelawney Shield (Top Junior Player): Chloe Langkammer, Flickers
Christine Trophy (Service, Ability and Sportsmanship): Teresa Gregus, Flickers
Foley Shield (Most improved umpire): Nora Struchtrup, Lynx 2

Div 1 MVP: Kyla Kirby, Lynx 1
Div 2 MVP: Shannon Petrovic, Sailors
Div 3 MVP: Theresa Kennedy, Demons

Div 1 All-Stars
Stefanie Sajko, Lynx 1
Libby Hogg Lynx 1
Andy Rushton, Lynx 1
Kira Starr, Mariners
Ali Baggott, Mariners
Chelsea Rabey, Mariners
Judy Cristante, Patriots
Brianne Zinkiew, Patriots (GK)
Heather Wheatley, Patriots
Chloe Langkammer, Flickers
Caitlin Evans, Flickers

Div 2 All-Stars
Avery Nystedt, Lynx 2
Emily Jackson, Lynx 2
Nora Struchtrup, Lynx 2
Shannon Petrovic, Sailors
Jeannette Leach, Sailors
Kaileigh Simons, Sailors
Reese Nagy, Cardinals
Makayla Styba, Cardinals
Emily Cherneff, Cardinals
Jalin Couper, Blue Jays
Teresa Wong, Blue Jays

Div 3 All-Stars
Theresa Kennedy, Demons
Inges Tang Ciccateri, Devils
Hayley Picard, Kestrels
Tracey Varian, Pirates
Catherine Jones, Pirates
Harkiran Khangura, Lynx 3
Brenda Wetherston, Renegades
Piper Douglas, Stellers
Mia Kelly-Ralph, Lynx 3
Debbie Melvin, Demons
Jill Dayton, Stellers


VILFHA is pleased to announce the date and event details for the annual VILFHA AGM and Awards Night.

When: Monday, April 9th @7:00 pm
Where: Reynolds School Theatre
3963 Borden Street, Victoria
(Parking Lot – Corner of Borden and Reynolds Road)

Who: All VILFHA members, Family and Friends
(all teams must have at least one team representative)
Please come and show your appreciation of our league award winners and support for our league.

Election of executive for the 2018-2019 season will also take place.

Drinks, appetizers and sweets will be provided.

Field Hockey Victoria Society
Annual General Meeting

Monday, February 19, 2018
7:00 – 8:30 pm
Boardroom @ Commonwealth Pool (4636 Elk Lake Drive)

Meeting Agenda:
1. Approval of the agenda
2. Approve minutes of the previous AGM
3. Executive reports (Juniors, Men, Ladies, Umpires, Turf)
4. Approval of the Financial report
5. Election of Directors
a. President (incumbent: Mark Baggott, VIFHA)
b. Vice-President (incumbent: Kathryn Dawson, VJFHA)
c. Treasurer (incumbent: Mike Rodgers, VIFHA)
d. Secretary (incumbent: Ali Lee, VILFHA)
e. Directors at Large (incumbents: Nancy Griffin, Sandy Grimwood, Denise McGeachy)
6. Appointment of Auditor, if required
7. Turf Update
8. Any other business

Voting structure reminder:
• Vancouver Island Ladies Field Hockey Association: 2 Votes
• Vancouver Field Hockey Association: 2 Votes
• Victoria Junior Field Hockey Association: 2 Votes
• South Island Field Hockey Umpires’ Association: 1 Vote
All members of the above association plus others with interest in field hockey in Victoria are welcome to attend.


Community Umpire Courses
Community Courses are $60 for FHBC members, and $85 for non-members. Courses are two sessions of 2.5 hours, including theory and exam.

Community Umpire Courses are open to those interested in the first steps towards fulfilling the earliest of rated Umpire requirements, umpires that desire a refresher, and umpires with expired certifications. Candidates should be at least 13 years old. Should you have any questions or concerns, please contact Kurt at the Field Hockey BC office at 604-737-3146 or

VICTORIA – January 2018
Dates: February 6 & 8 (last day to register: Tuesday January 30th)
Time: Two sessions from 6:00pm – 9:00pm on Tuesday February 6th and Thursday February 8th, 2018
Venue: PISE – 4371 Interurban Rd, Victoria, BC V9E 2C5
Course Conductor: Denise McGeachy

To register for the course visit:


VILFHA would like to acknowledge the passing of Benita Yorck (Hibbert) who passed away peacefully on Dec. 28, 2017 at the age of 84.

“When we played together, she was the heart of the Oak Bay Ladies Field Hockey Club,” said Pat Hall, long-time VILFHA member and coach/organizer of the current Oak Bay Hockey Club. “She was an outstanding centre half, a worker for the game, our social directer and just a classy lady.”

Benita’s father-in-law donated ‘The Hibbert Trophy’ intended for the Most Outstanding Player on the Oak Bay team. “Nita” as her team mates called her, re-donated it to the league and pushed to have the trophy be awarded to the Most Outstanding Player in the entire VILFHA league and it is to this date still awarded for that.

From the Times Colonist Obituary:
YORCK, Benita (Hibbert) December 11, 1933 – December 28, 2017 Our Mother, Benita Yorck passed away peacefully in her home December 28, 2017 at the age of 84 with her three children at her side. She was born on December 11, 1933 in a small country village (Sarisbury Green) in Southampton, England. Immigrated to Canada in 1952 to Halifax, NS and finally moved to Victoria, BC in 1954 where she raised her family and resided for the remainder of her life. Benita was always seen with a beautiful smile on her face and was very well known in the community of Oak Bay through her various volunteering works over the last 10 years with the Monterey Rec. Centre, Oak Bay Rec. Centre, Henderson Rec. Centre and the Oak Bay United Church. Benita is survived by her brother Peter Scott and family, daughter Alannah Hanlen (Alan), sons Richard Hibbert (Isobel) and Peter Hibbert (Leah) and three grandchildren Tristan, Jaryd and Brianna. Benita did not want a formal service but wanted all her friends and family to know that she cherished every moment she had with you. Memorial donations in lieu of flowers can be made to the Monterey Recreation Activity Association (care of Yvonne Stewart at the Monterey Centre) in Benita Yorck’s name to support their program activities. Tributes and Memories can be shared by visiting (Click on Benita YORCK)