News and Announcements

Post Author Picture

Field Hockey Victoria AGM 2019

Posted by Field Hockey Victoria at May 29, 2019 1:41PM PDT ( 0 Comments )

Field Hockey Victoria Society
Annual General Meeting

June 19, 2019
7:00 – 8:30 pm
Boardroom @ Commonwealth Pool (4636 Elk Lake Drive)

Meeting Agenda:

  • Approval of the agenda
  • Approve minutes of the previous AGM
  • Executive report (Juniors, Men, Ladies, Umpires, Turf)
  • Approval of the Financial report
  • Election of Directors
  • President (incumbent: Mark Baggott, VIFHA)
  • Vice-President (incumbent: Milena Gaiga, VJFHA)
  • Treasurer (incumbent: Amy Jones, VILFHA)
  • Secretary (incumbent: Sandy Grimwood, VILFHA)
  • Directors at Large (incumbents: Shibby Claire, Jim Knight, Nancy Griffin, Ali Baggott, Denise McGeachy)
  • Appointment of Auditor, if required
  • Motion re: new Society’s Act
  • Any other business

Voting structure reminder:

  • Vancouver Island Ladies Field Hockey Association: 2 Votes
  • Vancouver Island Field Hockey Association (Men): 2 Votes
  • Victoria Junior Field Hockey Association: 2 Votes
  • South Island Field Hockey Umpires’ Association: 1 Vote

All members of the above associations plus other with interest in field hockey in Victoria are welcome to attend.


On April 9 the Vancouver Island Ladies Field Hockey Association (VILFHA) awarded the league trophies, major awards and all-star team acknowledgements. Lynx 1’s Libby Hogg (pictured) earned the Trelawney Shield for being the Most Outstanding Under 18 Player. Demon’s Theresa Kennedy took home the Hibbert Trophy for being the most outstanding player in the association. Mariners goalie Larissa Piva was awarded the Christine Trophy for her ability, sportsmanship and service to the association. For the second straight year, Mariners’ umpire Nora Struchtrup was presented the Foley Shield for her umpire performances this season.

Mariners were the playoff winners for Division 1, while the Sailors won in Division 2. The Stellers were playoff champions for Division 3. See below for the full list of award winners and visit for all photos of the award recipients. Congratulations!

Div 1 Playoff Winner: Mariners
Div 2 Playoff Winner: Sailors
Div 3 Playoff Winner: Stellars

Div 1 Most Sportsmanlike Team: Flickers
Div 2 Most Sportsmanlike Team: Lynx 2
Div 3 Most Sportsmanlike Team: Lynx 3

Hibbert Trophy (Most Outstanding Player): Theresa Kennedy, Demons
Trelawney Shield (Most Outstanding Under 18 Player): Libby Hogg, Lynx 1
Christine Trophy (Service, Ability and Sportsmanship): Larissa Piva, Mariners
Foley Shield (Most improved umpire): Nora Struchtrup, Mariners

Div 1 MVP: Larissa Piva, Mariners
Brianna Zinkiew, Patriots
Div 2 MVP: Kaileigh Simons, Sailors
Div 3 MVP: Eva Cuddihy, Pirates

Div 1 All-Stars
Libby Hogg, Lynx 1
Emily Jackson, Lyn 1
Kyla Kirby, Lynx 1
Meggan Oliver, Patriots
Brianne Zinkiew, Patriots
Emily Bennett, Patriots
Chloe Langkammer, Flickers
Hannah Craig, Flickers
Ava Smith, Flickers
Larissa Piva, Mariners
Ali Baggott, Mariners
Nora Struchtrup, Mariners

Div 2 All-Stars
Maeve Connorton, Lynx 2
Julia Boraston, Lynx 2
Suzie Stone, Lynx 2
Kailiegh Simons, Sailors
Hannah Williams, Sailors
Shannon Petrovic, Sailors
Reese Nagy, Cardinals
Maya Doman, Cardinals
Arden Ross, Blue Jays
Keira Ho, Blue Jays

Div 3 All-Stars
Theresa Kennedy, Demons
Natalie Boraston, Demons
Alyson Denis, Stellars
Lynne Dayton, Stellars
Shyana Ringma, Lynx 3
Hilary Wickware, Lynx 3
Eva Cuddihy, Pirates
Rebecca Simmonds, Pirates
Tracy Nguyan, Devils
Hannah Mazure, Renegades
Hayley Pickard, Kestrals

VILFHA is saddened to hear of the passing of Henry Lenaghan, a tremendous supporter of women’s field hockey. Henry was a skilled field hockey player and umpire. He was devoted to training, mentoring and encouraging field hockey umpires, and especially cherished by FHBC for his devotion to the game. Our thoughts are with Henry’s family and friends. Full obituary:


Congratulations to all players on a great season and to our winning teams. Saturday was an exciting day of hockey with the Stellers beating Lynx 3 5-1 to take the Div 3 top spot. The Div 2 final match up was a tight game with Sailors and Lynx 2 going into a shootout. The final score was 4-3 for the Sailors. The Mariners and Patriots battled for Div 1 first place with the Mariners taking the Patriots 2-1.

Special thanks to all those who worked the technical table, in particular Brenda Rushton for organizing and Pat Hall for her long shifts at the table. Another big thanks to everyone who donated to the fundraiser we did for the Canadian Women’s National Team. Together the league raised over $2,500!

Also, a reminder, the VILFHA AGM and Awards Night is in 329A at PISE at 7pm, on Tuesday, April 9. We’re going to kick off the event with a Heads and Tails loonie/toonie elimination game as a fundraiser for the Canadian National Team. These funds will be added to our current total. Bring your loonies and toonies for a chance to win some great Team Canada swag!

VILFHA Awards Night and AGM – Tuesday, April 9

The 2018/19 season is coming to an end! Please come and show your appreciation of our league award winners and support for the league. Election of executive for the 2019/20 season will also take place. Here’s what you need to know:

When: 7pm, Tuesday, April 9

Where: 329A, PISE
4371 Interurban Road, Victoria
* As per Regulations 4.1 c) Fines shall be imposed on any team: iv. For not having a Team Rep at Council meetings and/or General Meetings $25
Goodies will be provided and pay parking is available on site.

We’re going to kick off the event with a Heads and Tails loonie/toonie elimination game as a fundraiser for the Canadian National Team. Bring your loonies and toonies for a chance to win some great Team Canada swag!

Please note, ALL of the VILFHA Executive Positions are open but there are some very important roles that need to be filled as the current holders are stepping down after this season. Those are:

- The President
- The Vice President
- The Treasurer
- Director of Operations (Vacant)
- Director of Events (Vacant)

It is incredibly important we fill these roles to ensure smooth league operations. Please see the job descriptions attached to this email and share widely among your teams. We thank Sandy Grimwood, Heather Wheatley and Krista Thompson for their dedication these past years.

We look forward to seeing you there!

The document Duties_of_the_Executive.pdf was attached to this post.